A Meeting of Minds - An Anne McCaffrey Discussion Forum  

Go Back   A Meeting of Minds - An Anne McCaffrey Discussion Forum > The Library Foyer > The Information Desk and Suggestion Box

The Information Desk and Suggestion Box Do you have any feedback or suggestions to share about this site? Having any troubles or just a general question about the board? Let us know!

Old Jan 6 2006, 03:04 PM   #1
Lady Maelin
Master Artist

Fan of: Pern,The Ship Who Sang
Now Reading: Anne's Pern EVERYTHING !
Default Newbie Question?

I am new to the computer, and especially fan sites, I found MoM thankfully by sheer luck. And I am very thankfull for you all here because as of late I have come to realize that you are not the normal site.

I have also been learning some new terms:

1. Newbie, one who is so new as to not be worthy to talk to.
2. Lurker, some one who keeps hanging around, that we are pretty sure we don't want to talk to, unless it is to redicule.
3.Post Runner or counter, a person who is talking to much to too many people that other people want to talk to first.
4.Attack, a verbal slap in the face by someone who does not like what you are saying, and that they hope will intemidate you, until you go away.

These are only a few, of what I now know are very common terms and comments being made to fellow fans. People that I thought were coming together to enjoy their mutual love of a given subject,(author, movie, hobbie, music, etc.)that they came to share with each other.

I don't understand, I thought that when you came to a fan site, that the whole reason was to talk to each other. To answer each others post, in a respectful inteligent manner, the more the merrier, friends and comments.