A Meeting of Minds - An Anne McCaffrey Discussion Forum  

Go Back   A Meeting of Minds - An Anne McCaffrey Discussion Forum > The Mezzanine > The Library Café > Café Archives
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Oct 24 2007, 07:12 PM   #1
Brenda

Default Today I took a turtle for a ride

So there was this turtle...

Well, let me back up a bit.

I am currently a student at Southeast Missouri State, and along with a Historic Preservation major I am getting a minor in recreation. And this semester I am doing a practicum for that minor, which means I have to do a certain amount of volunteer hours - two seven-week sessions of 42 hours each. And this session I am volunteering at nearby Trail of Tears State Park. This is really cool because I am hoping to work in the Missouri State Parks, and they've got it set up so I'm doing a little of everything.

Anyway, on Saturday someone brought in a turtle they had caught, to ask what kind it was. And nobody knew, so they put it in a plastic bin until they could bring someone in to identify it. Well, today when I got there, the woman who was working in the Visitor Center that day had decided to just take some photos so the turtle could be set free. I helped - I held the turtle upside down so she could photograph the underside - and then she asked me to drive the turtle out to the lake and let it go.

It was a most unusual passenger. I think I can say with authority that this is the first time a turtle has gotten a ride in my car. He was in a smaller plastic container and stayed in his shell for most of the ride, but after a while started scratching around trying to go somewhere. He could hardly move because his claws had no traction.